View & restore a previous version of an email or page
This article applies to both versions of the builder in all BEE Pro plans. However, some features may be limited or unavailable on the Free plan.
Email and Page version history adds a level of control and flexibility to BEE Pro.
You can view, restore, or export a previous version of your work. If you're working with multiple users, you can also see who made the changes and when.
Whenever you save changes to a design created in BEE Pro, the system saves a copy of the current version. As a result, the previous version of your work is never lost. A list of the versions is available by clicking the History tab on the email or page details page. You will see:
- the version number
- the name of the person who worked on that version
- the time and date of when they saved it
If you're using a Free BEE Pro plan, keep in mind that you can only access the most recent historical version. In order to work with the full design history, you need a Team or Enterprise subscription.
How it works
Once you save an email or a page, will see two tabs at the top of the Email/Page details page.
- Details show information related to the email or page you've just saved.
- History is the tab that gives you access to a list of the email or page versions that have been saved.
With Co-editing in Enterprise, you may see some differences.
A Handy Activity Tracker For Multiple Users
Who made the most recent edits to the latest newsletter? When was the password reminder template restored to a previous version and who did that? Who created the design for this great-looking new product announcement?
This handy feature tracks and displays user activity. This means that people can take credit for the work they did. Additionally, if there is a problem, responsibilities are clearly assigned.
Restoring a previous version
Do you need to restore a previous version of something created in BEE Pro? Navigate to the Email/Page details section for that design. Click on the History tab mentioned above. The system displays a list of the versions that have been saved. This is ordered chronologically starting with the current version.
Each version gives access to the following options:
- Preview: click to see a preview of the email.
- Restore: proceed if you wish to replace the current version with a previous one. You will need to confirm the action in order to complete the task.*
*If using a Free account, the option to restore is only available for the most recent version.
When you restore a previous version, you can provide a reason for the change. A new version will populate with the content of the version selected. It will become the current version and populates at the top of the list. What used to be the current version becomes the second one listed in the timeline.
By clicking Confirm and close you'll move to the version list. Clicking Confirm and edit takes you directly to the builder in order to modify the email/page.
There may be times when you wish to export a version of the email or page other than the current one. For example, you could be running an A/B test in another application. Perhaps the latest two versions of the email/page represent the two variations that you wish to use in the A/B test.
You can do this by first restoring the other version in the History tab. Once restored, return to the Details page. Now you can click Export to select your preferred export option.
Email and page versions and user roles
This feature is not available in the Free BEE Pro plan.
Contributors cannot restore a previous version of an email or a page. Utilize user roles to ensure only authorized users can access the restore feature.
If you have any questions, feel free to contact us.