Available on BEE Pro Team & Agency (see plans and pricing).
We are happy to introduce message version history, a new feature that further improves the email creation workflow in BEE Pro!
With message version history you can now view, restore or export a previous version of your message, and see who made the changes and when.
In this article:
- What changes in the UI?
- Activity tracker for Teams and Agencies
- Restoring a previous version
- Exporting a previous message
- Message versions and user roles
Message version history adds a new level of control and flexibility to the process of creating emails in BEE Pro.
Whenever you save changes to a message designed in BEE Pro, the system saves a copy of the current version, so those previous versions of the same message are never lost. A list of the versions is available by clicking the History tab on the message details page. You will see the version number, the name of the person who worked on that version of the message, and the time and date of when they saved it.
Once you save a message, at the top of the Message details page you will see two tabs.
- Details show information related to the message you've just saved: message name, tags, descriptions, etc. Nothing's changed here.
- History is a new tab that gives you access to a list of the message versions that have been saved since the feature was activated in your BEE Pro account.
Who made the most recent edits to the latest newsletter? When was the password reminder template restored to a previous version and who did that? Who created the design for this great-looking new product announcement?
This handy new feature tracks and displays user activity. This means that people can take credit for the work they did, and - if there is a problem - responsibilities are clearly assigned.
If you need to restore a previous version of a message, navigate to the Message details page for any message and click on the History tab mentioned above. The system will display a list of the versions of the message that have been saved, ordered chronologically starting with the current version.
Each version of the message gives access to the following options:
- Preview: click to see a preview of the message.
- Export: push to an external application, download or copy the HTML or save to PDF.
- Restore: proceed if you wish to replace the current version with a previous one. You will need to confirm the action in order to complete the task.
When you restore a previous version of a message, you may decide to provide a reason and a new version will be created with a copy of the content of the selected, older version. It will become the current version and will display at the top of the list. What used to be the current version is not removed, but rather becomes the second one listed in the timeline.
By clicking confirm and close you'll move to the version list, whereas clicking confirm and edit takes you directly to the editor in order to modify the message.
There may be times when you wish to export a version of the message other than the current one. For example, you could be running an A/B test in another application, and the latest two versions of the message represent the two variations that you wish to use in the A/B test.
You can easily do this because the History tab allows you to export any version listed in the timeline. Just click on Export and select the export option that fits your needs.
When assigning a role to a user, please consider that contributors are not allowed to restore a previous version of a message, along with other limitations that they have when managing messages (e.g. they may not delete a message).