View & restore a previous version of a design
Available on BEE Pro Team & Agency (see plans and pricing).
We are happy to provide version history, a feature that improves the email and page creation workflow in BEE Pro!
With version history, you can now view, restore or export a previous version of your design, and see who made the changes and when.
In this article:
- How does it work?
- Activity tracker for Teams and Agencies
- Restoring a previous version
- Exporting a previous design
- Design versions and user roles
Design version history adds a new level of control and flexibility to the process of working in BEE Pro. Note that this feature is only available in the Email and Pages editor; you won't see this option if you're working in the template editor.
Whenever you save changes to an email or page designed in BEE Pro, the system saves a copy of the current version, so those previous versions of the same design are never lost. A list of the versions is available by clicking the History tab on the details page. You will see the version number, the name of the person who worked on that version, and the time and date of when they saved it.
Once you save and exit a design, you are redirected to the Details page. This is available in both the email and page editor. At the top of the details page, you will see two tabs.
- Details show information related to the design you've just saved. If you've created an email, you'll see the email name, tags, descriptions, preheader & UTMs. If you're working in the Page editor, you'll see most of the same details, as well as the publish option, metadata, and title.
- History is the tab that gives you access to a list of the design versions that have been saved since the feature was activated in your BEE Pro account.
With the introduction of the Co-editing feature, you can see some differences.
Who made the most recent edits to the latest newsletter? When was the password reminder email restored to a previous version and who did that? Who created the design for this great-looking new product announcement?
This handy feature tracks and displays user activity. This means that people can take credit for the work they did, and - if there is a problem - responsibilities are clearly assigned.
If you need to restore a previous version of a design, navigate to the Details page and click on the History tab mentioned above. The system will display a list of the versions of the design that have been saved, ordered chronologically starting with the current version.
Each version of the design gives access to the following options:
- Preview: click to see a preview of the design.
- Export: push to an external application, download or copy the HTML or save to PDF.
- Restore: proceed if you wish to replace the current version with a previous one. You will need to confirm the action in order to complete the task.
When you restore a previous version of a design, you may decide to provide a reason and a new version will be created with a copy of the content of the selected, older version. It will become the current version and will display at the top of the list. What used to be the current version is not removed, but rather becomes the second one listed in the timeline.
By clicking confirm and close you'll move to the version list, whereas clicking confirm and edit takes you directly to the editor in order to modify the design.
There may be times when you wish to export a version of the design other than the current one. For example, you could be running an A/B test in another application, and the latest two versions of the design represent the two variations that you wish to use in the A/B test.
You can easily do this because the History tab allows you to export any version listed in the timeline. Just click on Export and select the export option that fits your needs.
When assigning a role to a user, please consider that contributors are not allowed to restore a previous version of a design, along with other limitations that they have (e.g. they may not delete a design).