Table of contents:
When it comes to working in a team, it's important to make sure that there's an efficient and consistent way that your colleagues can collaborate and share their thoughts. It can also be a matter of time: it's crucial to have the work done at the right time. That's where the Commenting feature comes in!
It's available in Team and Agency plans.
How it works
When you edit a message you can add a comment on each element within the message - whether it be an individual content block or an entire row. You can add a comment using the chat bubble icon. This icon has been added to the options available when you select a content block or row, but you can also find it in the editor sidebar.
You can also use @mentions within the commenting feature to better expedite your collaboration workflow. Mentions now notify the user both in and outside of BEE Pro. For more information on how this works, please see the Notifications center article.
Commenting on content
When you have any content block selected, the commenting icon will be available in the lower right-hand corner of the content block, directly below the outline of the content block. The icon is the furthest on the left:
You can also access the commenting icon from the editor sidebar when you are viewing the content properties.
Commenting on rows
When you have any row selected, the commenting icon will be available in the upper right-hand corner of the row outline. The icon is the furthest on the left:
You can also access the icon from the sidebar when you are viewing the row properties.
You can find all comment threads within a message by using the All comments shortcut available in the editor's dashboard.
Clicking on this icon will open all threads in the editor sidebar.
Directly on the editor stage, comments will be reflected by a circular version of the commenting icon in the upper left-hand corner of the row or content. You'll see this icon regardless of whether or not it is selected. For example, here's a screenshot that shows both a row and content block comment:
If you click on one of these icons, the associated comment thread will open inside of the editor sidebar. Keep in mind that these icons will only populate for open comment threads. They will disappear if the thread has been resolved or deleted.
If you have a row or content selected that has an ongoing thread, the commenting icon in the editor sidebar will reflect the number of new comments.
When viewing a comment thread, you have the option to edit or delete your own comments. You are not able to interact with comments left by other users.
On any comment thread, you can use the Resolve link to finish the conversation. This will cause the icon notification on the editor stage to disappear. You are not able to leave additional comments on a resolved thread.
If something changes, and you need to re-open a resolved thread, you can do this by using the Reopen link, which will replace the previously available resolve link.
From any comment thread window in the editor sidebar, you'll see an option in the upper left-hand corner of the sidebar that says All comments. If you click on this button, it will allow you to view all comments on the message you are viewing. By default, you'll see comments from resolved threads and deleted content/rows as well as any existing comments. They will be sorted from newest to oldest automatically, but by using the filters above the comment list, you can sort through the comments in order to find what you're looking for.
Depending on the status of any given comment you can see in this view, you might see a couple of different things:
- For unresolved comments, there will be a Reply link. Click this to jump directly to the content or row associated with that comment.
- For unresolved comment threads, you'll still see the Reply link. You'll also see a link directly above that brings you to the full thread that follows this comment. For example, it may say something like Show all (#) replies.
- For resolved comments and comments associated with deleted content, the text will appear grey with an icon populating in the upper left-hand corner of the comment will let you know what the status of that comment thread is (Resolved or content deleted). You can still interact with the Show all (#) replies link here in order to navigate to the content or row associated with the thread.
We hope you enjoy this new feature and that it allows you to make the most of collaborating with your team in the BEE editor. If you have any feedback or concerns, feel free to leave a comment on this article, or you can reach out to us using the Help widget in your BEE Pro account.